Dear Ego, SHHHHHHHHHH

9930fa03-7ddf-44f7-91bb-60f3879e9eaa “The Ego is not who you really are. The ego is your self-image; it is your social mask; it is the role you are playing. Your social mask thrives on approval. It wants control, and it is sustained by power, because it lives in fear.” – Deepak Chopra

You know that little voice in our head, that says all the things like; “I am not worthy of this love,” “I look fat,” “I am ugly,” “I am not good enough,” “I will never reach my dreams,” “I am too old to try something new” and all those other horrible thoughts that fill our head. This is the ego at work! This little voice can spend day after day after day keeping us in this lower energy space. Making us believe that we are all the things it says. Have you ever had a disagreement with a friend, and for days it is all you can think about. You replay the conversation over and over and over again. You have fake fights with them in your head, and act out what you would say and what they would say and think about it all day long. Think about how many times you have done this… Now think about how many hours you spent feeding your ego with all that negative energy. I do not say this to scare you or frustrate you. But, think of all the better things you could be doing with you time instead of fighting, really, with yourself instead of encouraging yourself.

Whether spiritual or not, everyone struggles with their ego. There are many sayings for what the ego means, but my favorite is “Edging God Out”.  When you spend all day engaging in your ego and what you can’t do and what others think about you, you are not focused on God and what He meant for you to do that day. Each day you have on Earth is for a reason, and it is not so you can worry, or live in fear. Each day when you wake up, before you even get out of bed, set your intention for the day. Ask God to let you live that day the way that He intended for you. Even the most spiritually enlightened people struggle with ego on a daily basis (with the exception of a few like the Dalai Lama for example), so don’t be too hard on yourself when you find yourself having to work at this on a daily basis. When you make an effort, even a small one, you shift your mindset to what is really important, building your relationship with God, your purpose, and learning your authentic self.

When your ego is having a “garbage filling session,” as I like to call it since it fills your mind up with muddy waste and not reality, it can be hard to realize that this is your ego and not your higher self.  Many people can get the two confused when having conversations with themselves. Imagine it this way, ego is dark, it only exists in a state of fear and is the farthest things from the Divine that can be experienced. Your ego wants to see you fail, it wants you to believe that you do not matter,  that all those goals you have cannot be accomplished and it will feed you nonsense everyday if you keep listening to it and living in that fear.  Then, there is your highest self, it is made of pure light and love. Your higher self is going to encourage you and tell you what you need to do to reach those goals because you are destined for them. It will help you attain self-love, and bring peace and calmness to your mind of worries. So, if your mind is bringing you down, making you feel anything less than a deserving worthy loving being, you are dealing with your ego.

I personally struggle with my ego almost every day, as most of us do.  My weak point is when I think someone is upset with me, not that we should care, but we all do. I dwell on this for days, from the moment I wake up in the morning until I fall asleep, and sometimes even in my dreams. I replay conversations, or conversations I want to have, thought I should have, or any conversation I think will help resolve the issue. But, my ego just keeps making me more upset about the situation. This tends to happen to me more with my “Teachers”. These are the people who were sent to my life to help me grow, but in the meantime push every button I have and drive me absolutely crazy in the process and always have me in a state of doubting myself and being fearful. We all have them, so I know you can relate to who yours are as well. I think I have worked through a lesson, and then it sneaks back in and my ego starts filling my head back up with all these fears and lies again. When this happens here is what I say, and maybe it will help you as well. “Ego, I am not entertaining you today! I have already worked through this (fear, situation, lesson, argument, person, etc.). If you want to go talk to someone about it, go talk to God, because I am done talking to you about it.” Sometimes this works for a few minutes, and sometimes the whole day, but if you say it enough, your ego will start to realize that it is not going to win. It will give you one heck of a fight, but you can overcome it. Every time you take the power away from the ego, it gets weaker and you get stronger.

When you stop feeding the ego with more fear, it will be an easier process, and you will be able to walk in your path, have a better relationship with yourself and God. You will also find that your relationships improve with loved ones, family, and friends when they are based in love and not fears. So remember, when you find yourself facing your ego, let it know that you choose to not live in the fear, but in the light. Say it out loud if you have to from a mountain top, or scream it into a pillow but release it. You may be finding yourself filled with negative thoughts, but one positive thought is hundreds of times more powerful. So, just shift it a little and say a positive thought and you will find yourself living in harmony with your higher self and your divine source.  Look for more posts on the ego in the future, as there is so much to say about it, and various aspects to cover. Until then have patience with yourself and implement a process that helps keep your mind on the light.

Stay Inspired by the Divine

Stacey

Did you find what you read helpful? Donate Now

© 2015 Elysian Life Design. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express or written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Elysian Life Design with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a Reply

